

BENEVOLENT FUND OF THE COLLEGE OF OPTOMETRISTS AND THE ASSOCIATION OF OPTOMETRISTS



PRIVATE AND CONFIDENTIAL

MINUTES OF THE 18TH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING held on 20th March 2017 in The Kings Suite, Hilton Birmingham Metropole

at 3.30pm

PRESENT

Ms R Cuthbert (Chair)
Mr R Llewellyn (Managing Trustee)
Ms Francesca Marchetti (Managing Trustee)
Lynne Brown (Administrative Secretary)

Members of the College: Ian Humphreys, E Mallen, L Speedwell, Lucy Hall, Manjot Kaur Gewal, Sean Rock, Helen Cox, Ronald Rabbetts, Leon Davis, Annette Parkinson, Jane Macnaughton, Gillian Rudduck, Shakeel Puri, Bruce Evans, Mawulolo Doe, Barbara Watson, Colin Davidson, Elaine Yorwarth, Wendy Bradshaw, Steve Madaen, Kamlesh Chauhan, Bruce Avery, David Ehrlich, Sarah Farrent, Lisa Gerson, Richard Spicer, Frank Morton, Valerie Alsop, Rakhee Price, Rebecca Rushton, Hal Rollason, Guy Barnes, Susan Bowers, Jonathan Walker, Elizabeth Sooklall, Jenna Patel, Andy McGregor, Robert Murrell, Tony Gibson, Mary-Ann Sherratt

1. Apologies for Absence:

• Apologies were received from Alison McClune and Sue Wilford (Managing Trustees).

2. Chair's Address:

In her address, Ruth Cuthbert reminded those present of the background and purpose of the joint College/AOP Benevolent Fund. The presentation is available as a separate document but the main topics included:

- Trustees appointed by College and AOP
- Who the BenFund helps
- How the BenFund helps e.g. payment of professional subscriptions, grants to ease severe financial problems, provision of counselling, purchase of essential items
- Modern problem of personal debt
- Helping people overcome and manage their debts
- The Fund's successes 2016

Registered Charity Number: 1003699

- Improved governance
- Where donations come from and the fund's financial position
- The role of Trustees
- How AOP Councillors can help e.g. raise awareness, identify new beneficiaries.

3. Minutes:

The meeting received and approved the Minutes of the 17th Annual General Meeting, held on 7th June 2016. (Proposed by Frank Morton, seconded by Francesca Marchetti)

4. Financial Statements and Treasurer's Report:

The meeting received and approved the Financial Statements and Treasurer's Report for the year ended 30 September 2016. A member of the College asked that the Trustees be generous when awarding grants.

5. Managing Trustees:

The meeting noted formally that Mr Ian Shaw and Mr Robert Hogan retired, by rotation, as Managing Trustees. Their resignations were accepted. New appointments of Henry Leonard by the Association of Optometrists and Lisa Gerson by the College of Optometrists were confirmed. The Association of Optometrists re-appointed Vivian Bush for another 3-year term. The Trustees for the coming year are: Ruth Cuthbert, Richard Broughton, Henry Leonard, Richard Llewellyn, Sue Wilford, David Cartwright, Lisa Gerton, Alison McClune, Francesca Marchetti and Vivian Bush.

6. Independent Examiners:

The meeting agreed unanimously to the appointment of Helen Elliott, FCA, of Sayer Vincent, as Independent Examiner to the Fund for the year ending 30 September, 2017.

7. Any Other Business:

The Chairman thanked those present for attending the Annual General Meeting.

There was no other business.

Registered Charity Number: 1003699